Introduciton about next generation of HTML (HTML5)

HTML5 is the next generation of HTML and it is still a “work in progress”. However, most modern browsers have some HTML5 support.

HTML5 is designed to be a cross-platform. You do not need to be running Windows or Mac OS X or Linux or Multics or any particular operating system in order to take advantage of HTML5. The only thing you do need is a modern web browser.

The previous version of HTML came in 1999. The web has changed a lot since then. HTML5 is cooperation between the World Wide Web Consortium (W3C) and the Web Hypertext Application Technology Working Group (WHATWG). WHATWG was working with web forms and applications, and W3C was working with XHTML 2.0. In 2006, they decided to cooperate and create a new version of HTML and APIs for web applications. The reason it came back in 2004, founded by people from Apple, Mozilla and Opera, was worry about the direction of W3C. They were taking with XHTML, and no focus on HTML or the real-life needs for web developers.

It got really interesting in July of 2009, when W3C announced that XHTML2 would be cancelled in favor of HTML. This means that the only future development of HTML and XHTML is in the form of HTML5 – HTML5 is the future, whatever you think about it.

HTML5 were established some of the rules:

  • New features should be based on HTML, CSS, DOM, and JavaScript
  • Reduce the need for external plug-ins (like Flash)
  • Better error handling
  • More markup to replace scripting
  • HTML5 should be device independent
  • The development process should be visible to the public

New features in HTML 5:

  • The canvas element for drawing
  • The video and audio elements for media playback
  • Better support for local offline storage
  • New content specific elements, like article, footer, header, nav, section
  • New form controls, like calendar, date, time, email, url, search

Please find the below links for more information: